Mike engages in a battle of wills with himself, and loses.

One night as we were getting ready for bed, I learned that I won an argument I did not know I was in.

Mike: (tossing a container of toothpaste down on the sink) Ok. I give. WHEN are you going to buy more toothpaste?!!

Me: Huh?

Mike: (holding up the mangled, empty toothpaste) THIS Meredith. How long can we keep going on THIS? I kept thinking I was going to win, that there was no way you would have the patience for this. I just kept squeezing a little more toothpaste out every day thinking that when it was your turn you were going to give up and buy new toothpaste. But I have had it!

Me: Honey, I have no idea what you’re talking about.

Mike: The…..uh…….the toothpaste?

Me: I have my own toothpaste, you idiot.

Mike: Oh……….oh. So I’ve been fighting with myself over toothpaste this whole time?

Me: Dude. Are you kidding me? You thought I was part of an imaginary toothpaste battle?

Mike: ………….

Me: ……………..

Mike: …………So can you buy me some more toothpaste next time you’re at the store?

War is hell, y’all.

**MY WEEKLY WRAP-UP***

The Politicus: Headline Round UpJohn Edwards jury finds him guilty — of Dreaminess.

Imperfect Parent: Did you know that every time you click on one of my articles at Minor Topics, an angel gets its wings? And I make about 1/8 of a penny? But, you know, do it for the angels.

Reckless Video: Starting on Tuesday, 6/5, you will be able to read my movie reviews at Reckless Video!! They read my review of Super Shark and said, “Now HERE is a lady that knows cinema!” No, they didn’t. But it’s going to be awesome.

Comments

  1. I think he must be related to my husband. He lost the can opener three times before he realized that I just kept putting it away. You know. Where it belonged.

  2. kavenson says:

    There should be a range of buttons we could choose from. “Like, Dislike, Love, It’s was okay, It could have been better, I want more” I would have chosen LOVE on this past post. too funny

  3. My tummy hurts and there are tears in my eyes…

Leave a comment